Writing challenge: Spread Goodness

This entry for today will be short. I am not going to give an excuse why it wouldn’t make the 500 word challenge but I’d rather write than skip.

People close to me would often describe use the word “nice” to describe me. So when i think about the nicest thing I’ve ever done, that’s going to be a challenge.

The nicest thing I’ve ever done was helping a good friend who got terribly sick. He flew immediately to the province because of his worsening condition. He was broke because of the hospital expenses that kept going up. I couldn’t stand not doing anything. For the first time, I messaged common friends asking for financial help for our friend. I asked for my friend’s bank account information by messaging his sister. A few helped. A few believed. For me, it didn’t matter. I just had to do it for a dear friend. And even if we didn’t get as much help, what’s important was that we got help. My friend has miraculously recovered and is now living a healthier life.

I know we should expect something in return when we help but this thought comes to my mind sometimes. It would be nice, in this times when people care lesser and lesser, if someone would do the same for you in times of need.

Leave a Reply

