Wicked in Manila: CCP

Every time Broadway musical plays would come here in the country, I see to it that I don’t miss the shows. This month, if you are looking for a perfect trip with your significant other or the entire family, I highly suggest you watch Wicked, The untold story of the Witches of Oz. This musical has been my favorite since it came out in Broadway in 2003. Its theme is easy to relate to since it focused on the friendship between two witches. But the story of Wicked is different from the classic Wizard of Oz that we all grew up with.

Wicked is based on Gregory Maguire’s novel where he presented a twist in the wicked witch we know, whom Dorothy killed by splashing a pail of water that melted her. He talked about the story of how this witch became wicked. Was she really wicked in the first place?

The musical is light. You’ll find yourself laughing because of Galinda, or Glinda, the Good- the other witch in the story. If you want to know more about the plot of the musical, you can read it  here.

Our show started at exactly 7:30 pm. I got out ticket last year- yes… last year- to be specific, last August. When it comes to spectacular shows like this, you need to get your tickets ahead of time or you’ll end up with all the good seats taken.

The video below is the first video I saw about Wicked. After watching this years back, I was already sold. Idina Menzel and Kristin Chenoweth are forever going to be my Elphaba and Glinda. I tried to put aside them as my standard as I watched the show so I can appreciate the entire performance. I was not there to critic anyway but to enjoy the performance.

Defying Gravity- Idina Menzel & Kristin Chenoweth

The Australian cast of Wicked here in the Philippines are Jemma Rix (Elphaba), Suzie Mathers (Glinda) and Steve Danielsen (Fiyero).

Here are the photos I took from last night’s show.

image
The Tanghalan Nicanor Abelardo stage in CCP from our view
image
The Curtain Call

image

image

image

image

image

 

image

image

The performance of Wicked started January 22 and will close on March 9. They extended shows so for those who have not bought their tickets yet, hurry! Get your tickets from Ticket World.

Ticket prices are as follows:

  • EMERALD- 7,000 Php
  • A – 5,800 Php
  • B- 4,500 Php
  • C- 3,500 Php
  • D- 2,250 Php
  • E- 1,750 Php

No matter which seats you get, what’s important is that you see the show! I assure you, you will not regret it!

Leave a Reply

